Making your own Part 1 : Peanut Butter

Posted: November 12, 2011 in Uncategorized


Hello everyone!

We can reduce the amount of waste we generate by just thinking about it. That’s right, it is that simple. All you have to do is think about how much waste you generate and this process will automatically affect your decision making process. That’s about all I do these days. I tell people I am waste conscious if they ask about some of my strange decisions. Here are some funny examples (or you can scroll down to the peanut butter bit 😉

+ My colleagues thought it was funny that I didn’t go with them to get takeaway lunch because I preferred to eat in at the cafe so I could avoid the takeaway boxes.

+ It took some convincing of the fruit guy at the farmers market to take his strawberries out of his box and put it in my container. I sincerely hope he reuses those boxes. He tells me he will do it just for me !

Something I have been doing recently is discovering the joy of making from scratch the products I typically buy from a supermarket. Many good reasons to do this with the obvious being less waste. I aim for zero waste but that’s not always possible. The other day I made peanut butter. A great recipe with pictures is shown on this site –
http://www.wikihow.com/Make-Peanut-Butter

What I did is to get roasted peanuts from my favorite bulk grocer – Flanneries and literally put it through my food processor (that we brought over from the U.S to avoid waste and plugged it into a transformer). I put a little bit of oil in to get it to mix properly and I used honey to sweeten. I had to do it in batches to make sure it ground properly but it taste SO much better that bought peanut butter.

Try it out next time you run out of peanut butter. You won’t be disappointed 🙂

Leave a Reply

